• We are setting up Trans World in the state boards this will take a few days Perth has already been done.these boards will be open to general public and they can also comment without membership. This is a trial only.

Could Uber Eats kill the brothel business?

Historian

What a coqup!
Diamond Member
I'm no expert in the brothel business but I do have to wonder. Today it was reported in the papers that Leederville's Sweetlips Fish and Chips was closing down. We've seen it in the papers about a whole bunch of other restaurants are closing. A friend of mine was thinking of opening a fish and chips shop opposite the pub but decided not to go ahead when he looked at how Uber Eats was killing everything.

So why would it affect the brothel part of the sex business? I only say this because Mount Lawley, until recently, had a 24 hour Chemist (the legal kind). Now it opens from 7a.m. to 2a.m. And they say Uber Eats has affected even them. I've reproduced the story from The West Australian below:

One of two 24-hour chemists in WA claims it has become a casualty of the “stay-in generation” and is reducing its around-the-clock service in Mt Lawley after almost 20 years.

Dean Schulze, the co-owner of the Beaufort Street 24-hour Chemist, said changing market conditions — particularly the “Uber Eats and Netflix effect” — meant fewer people were venturing out late at night.

This had sounded the death knell for its 24-hour opening hours and from April 2 it will become the Beaufort Chemist and operate from 7am to 2am.

Mr Schulze said there was no continuing support for chemists in WA, unlike in Victoria, where the State Government subsidised pharmacies to stay open 24 hours a day.

He said his chemist had probably saved the WA Health Department millions of dollars over the years, with people coming in for medical advice in the middle of the night instead of going to a hospital emergency department.